Gabriel Medina wins Quiksilver Pro France

15 Oct

By Chris Engelhardt

Gabriel Medina, of Brazil, won the Quiksilver Pro France this week.Credit: Facebook

 

After 34 of the world’s top surfers came together in France this week for the Quiksilver Pro France, the eighth of 11 events on the Association of Surfing Professionals’ World Tour, Gabriel Medina, of Brazil, was crowned the winner of the event Wednesday.

Medina, 17, beat out Julian Wilson, 22, of Australia, on a day that brought three to four foot waves at La Graviere in southwest France. Medina posted a final surf score of 17.00 to surpass Wilson,  who scored a 16.10, to win the Quiksilver Pro France, a contest that brought a slew of challenging conditions, from inconsistent waves to inclement winds.

“This is the best feeling ever,” Medina said after the contest. “I beat some great guys on the way to [the] final and I’m very stoked now. I want to thank all my friends and family and God for their support. It has been an amazing week for me. . . . It doesn’t seem real.”

He added: “Julian [Wilson] is an incredible surfer and I know he wanted to win very badly. I knew I needed a big score on that final wave and I had to throw everything I had to get it. I’m very happy right now.”

Wilson built momentum throughout the final round, landing two solid scores, and said that though he didn’t win top prize, he was proud of his performance. “Everything feels good and I’m very happy to be here on the podium,” Wilson said. “It’s been a great event for me and congrats to Gabriel [Medina] for his incredible run here in France.”

After the competition, officials determined that the 2011 ASP World Title cannot be decided at the next event, which will be in Portugal, and will go to at least San Francisco.

To check out photos as well as video footage from the competition, visit the Quiksilver Pro France website.

Leave a comment